Ever have one of these exposed days?

Ever have one of these days?

IMG_0391

Usually I am (thankfully) pretty even tempered. I am not hormonal, as a rule, so I don’t fluctuate a whole lot. If anything, I may get hyper or excitable over something really good or something I enjoy a lot, like a mint chocolate chip ice cream cone or a cute picture of a Boston Terrier that someone posted on Facebook.  Or, maybe a texting marathon into the wee hours of the night with my daughter over the show details of The Bachelorette (she likes short shrimpy men).  Yeah, I’m really that easy!  But, I can honestly say that I don’t experience too many bad moody days.

Except for the other day, I am almost embarrassed to admit  ….. I snapped like a twig. I irritatingly rushed to answer my phone (during my lunch, mind you) while going through emails at my desk and simply trying to do too many tasks at once.  On the other end of my phone was this cool sounding seasoned telemarketer with an extremely heavy Indian accent.  She could have cared less that I couldn’t make heads or tails out of the company she was with, or that I couldn’t make out the purpose of the call.  Me, the hot-tempered raving lunatic was, let’s just say, less than ‘cool’ as my mind still tried to grasp the name of her company.  I felt my blood pressure rise as she continued on with her rehearsed script and me, the Pit Bull, was unwilling to be amused by her memorized lines.

I was like a CRAZY person …. a completely imbalanced bitch from hell …. as I caught myself yelling into the phone!  She was trying to sell me eyelash serum!  Eyelash serum!  I wasted 60 seconds (well, it felt a whole lot longer at the time) of my overworked, multitasked life for eyelash serum!

“Oh yeah, Diahanna, you’re really a pro” I thought, angry at myself for the unwarranted outburst and misdirected anger.

So, I decided to cool off, sit quietly in my room, and chill out.  I was like a lunatic, and this whole episode felt odd.  Before I left the office for home, I decided to deal with every thing that was truly bothering me.  My goal was to get rid of it, get it off my plate, and to never speak of it again.  Why?  Because if I told my husband or vented to a friend (or maybe two), I would relive this sense of aggravation each and every time I spoke of it.  Bringing it up over and over again, which may appear as harmless, takes things in the opposite direction of where I want to be and what I want to feel.

Message for the day:

Handle quickly and with as little effort as possible what ever it is that is keeping you from feeling good.  I did that, and never spoke of it again (example: the telemarketer).  I didn’t run home and tell my husband that I had a “bad” day, I simply kept my mouth shut and distracted myself with things to help me feel just a little bit better.  Sometimes, that is the quickest path to get back on the road to a happier life.  For instance, you could take a walk, play with your dog, throw a ball in the backyard, color or paint, or read a book, sing with the radio, or play the piano.  Just do anything to distract yourself from your “problem” and move yourself into a better feeling. Keep it up lithely little and you will begin to feel better and better.  Then, just get on with living happily.

Eye lash serum anyone?

5 thoughts on “Ever have one of these exposed days?

  1. I did comment…not sure I did this correctly.  My comment is.Yes, I had one of those days today.  Thought, how will I calm down.  Got busy killing weeds.  Better weeds than my husband.    None lethal action was the better choice.

    Like

  2. Shrimpy men!!!! HA! I agree I think telling everyone the same story over and over just helps you to relive it and keeps you stead fast in that moment or feeling. Distraction is good!! Great post Diahanna!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

