Who Is This For and What Are We All Blogging About Anyway?

I am new to blogging but not exactly new to writing.  Years ago, I was a contributing columnist for a multi-town newspaper.  I am frequently asked if I have ever written a book or told that I should write a book.  The answer is no, I have not written a book, but I do think about writing one from time to time.  Perhaps I will begin that adventure in my near future.  Meanwhile, I’ll blog.

howtowriteadiarySo, since I am new to blogging, I have started reading other blogger’s posts to gain insight as to ‘how’ to blog.  I notice that many bloggers write about things that are happening in their daily lives, but I am not sure I understand who they are targeting as their audience.  Their writing often sounds like a journal or diary entry to me, which might be good for venting or healing their inner self, but is something I highly doubt I’ll ever read again.

Which got me thinking …. to whom am I writing?  Who is my audience?  More importantly, what’s the purpose or the main focus of my blog?

I have a private practice where I teach people how to feel better about themselves or teach them how to change behaviors within themselves to create more of what they want and less of what they don’t.  I love helping people to reach higher, feel better and I love having a place to have others gather together to learn and grow.   I do enjoy what I do, and through this blog I want to continue to help others.  I love the idea of a writing forum like this to start conversations with my friends (old and new) and my family to help us all grow.  I love the friends I have made (and will make) along this journey and I love to laugh with them.

Laughing out loud is the best feeling in the world … maybe getting a group of us laughing together is the answer to world peace! (Hey, it’s my blog, I can write what I want!)  Maybe together we will all leave this world just a little bit happier.

13450141_1752671554955741_4652985422716698296_nAt the very least, these blogs are for my daughter.  I want her to have the best life possible, and to learn from my mistakes, my silliness, and from my inner wisdom.  I want her to know that I always see her highest potential, even when she herself can no longer see it.  Especially when she is in darkness, I become her light.  I am the guidance like a lighthouse to the approaching ships.

Through these writings, I can become yours too.

I encourage all of you to please enjoy my blog and give me a thumbs up if you like what you read.  Pass my blog around and invite others to join in on the conversation (the more the merrier!).

 

11 thoughts on “Who Is This For and What Are We All Blogging About Anyway?

  1. Awesome. I want to grow up someday and be just like you. I am still waiting to get out of the dark and find some light. You are an inspiration to me

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thumbs Up!!
    I was writing a blog but it did feel like I was writing a journal for high school English class. I could not keep up because it just was too much pressure on me. I wish you well and thank you for all the help, Jon

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

